Life Members

The Club’s committee has the pleasurable power of awarding Honorary Life Membership to Club members who have made an outstanding, on-going contribution to the progress of the Club.

According to our Constitution, this highly-esteemed level of membership is offered only for exceptional service to the Club.

Up to 2014, eligibility was “available only where offered to a person for exceptional service to the Club spanning at least three years or having an effect that will (or has) benefited the Club for three years by, and at the absolute discretion of, the Committee voting unanimously in favour of doing so”.

In 2014, this was changed to be “available only where offered to a member, having at least 10 years of Club membership, during some of which they have performed a Club role and provided exceptional service by, and at the absolute discretion of, the Committee voting unanimously in favour of doing so”.

During our history, life membership has been awarded to just 13 individuals:

Margaret Cemm1990Co-founder (MX-5 Club of Victoria Inc.)
Michael Cemm1996Co-founder (MX-5 Club of Victoria Inc.)
Foundation President 1990-1993 (MX-5 Club of Victoria Inc.)
David Henry1996Foundation member (1990)
President 1991-1995 (Mazda MX-5 Club of Victoria)
Murray Finlay1997Foundation member (1990)
President 2006-12
Vice President 1997-2001, 2002-06, 2012-16
Committee member 1991-95, 1997-2016
Secretary 1991-95 (Mazda MX-5 Club of Victoria)/2005-2006 (Mazda MX-5 Club of Victoria Inc.)
Club Champion 1993-94, 2009-10
Jinba Ittai award 2013-14
Ian Morris2001President 1996-99
Club Captain - Motor Sport 1994-96
NatMeet 2000 Chairman
Committee member 1994-99
David James
2002President 1999-2001
Club Captain - Motor Sport 1996-98
Committee member 1996-2001, 2002-03
Sue Ransom
2003Responsible for the public launch of the Mazda MX-5 into Australia
Early driving force in setting up the Victorian and all other State Mazda MX-5 clubs, and the start of NatMeet
Will Campbell
2003President 2001-04
Committee member 2000->
Coral Campbell
2003Committee member 2000-04, 2005->
Secretary 2000-01
Grant Butler
2008Committee member 2003-09
Secretary 2002-05, 2009
Club Captain - Social 2005-06
NatMeet 2008 Chairman
Assistant Club Captain - Social 2008
Eastern Victoria Chapter Captain 2011-12
Sam Gumina
2008Committee member 2006-2008
Club Captain - Motor Sport 2006-08
Assistant Club Captain - Motor Sport 2008-09, 2010-11
Club Motor Sport Champion 2003-04, 2004-05, 2005-06, 2006-07, 2007-08, 2008-09
Mike Quist
2010As National Public Relations Manager for Mazda Australia from 1979 to 2001, Mike was in charge of the national public launch of the Mazda MX-5 in 1989. Right from his first sighting of the exciting new roadster in Japan earlier that year, he promised the legendary Toshihiko Harai that he would have an MX-5 club in every Australian state, and set this as a central goal of his launch program. It is fitting, in marking the 20th anniversary of our Club, that we honour Mike Quist with Life Membership.
Ken Beaton
201415-year member
Inaugural Chapter Captain for Northern Tasmania Chapter 2008-13

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial